My Nectar points have been stolen!

So last week I popped into Sainsburys for a couple of things while in town and of course scanned my nectar card to gain my points. I happened to glance at my receipt to see how many points I had when I discovered there was only around £1 on there! Having been collecting my points for months and months I knew I had over £66 worth the week before when I had used it so something had clearly gone very wrong!  I had been purposely saving my points for the summer offer of 2 cinema tickets for £5 worth of points as we love to go and see a movie in the holidays and have a family meal out afterwards. With the number of points I had collected we could go several times without it costing me a penny – love a good deal!

Anyway, I got home and rang Nectar who were able to trace my transactions and to my shock they told me that my points had all been used at a fuel station in Leicester on Monday! I have never been to Leicester in my life! So it looks like someone has somehow cloned my card as I still have my original card in my purse. To make matters worse they actually went into the same fuel station the day before and scanned the card (gaining 2 points on their £2.38 spend) which would have then given them a receipt so they knew exactly how much I had saved on there. Can you believe the cheek of it?!

Nectar have been absolutely brilliant and immediately blocked the account.  They have sent me a new Nectar card with a new account and have replaced my stolen points onto the new card. They couldn’t have been more helpful – fab service Nectar thank you!

Let this be a warning to all of you to keep an eye on your points balance with any store loyalty cards you have. I never imagined anyone would clone something like that but apparently it is very common. Fingers crossed it doesn’t happen again!

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter@mumof2point5 and like my Facebook page to receive regular updates on your news feed including new reviews, discount vouchers and general parenting ramblings.

Did you enjoy reading this post? Share it with your friends and family using the share buttons below 🙂

Leave a Reply

