Christmas Street Fair

There’s something strangely nostalgic about going to the annual Christmas street fair in our town.  Its like a ritual that every single person I know takes part in.  I’ve been going to it for as long as I can remember.  In my younger years my parents and Nan would take me and my sister, then later on in my teens I would still have a stroll down there with Nan.  Its tacky, its loud, its manic busy and its freezing cold but the whole town ruddy loves it!

20161124_185541

And now I have kids of my own that love it just as much as I do.  I love seeing their excitement and listening to their stories for days afterwards as they tell people about the rides they went on and the things they saw in the parade.  This year’s parade had Batman in his real life batmobile! It was awesome!

My favourite thing about the street fair is bumping into friends and the lovely community spirit.  Being a swimming teacher a lot of the local kids know me so we literally cannot walk 10 yards up the street without bumping into someone we know!

Of course no fair would be complete without candy floss and the hot freshly made doughnuts.  The mile long queue (ok slight exaggeration there but it is a very long queue!)  tells me its not just me that loves the doughnuts!

Its now officially Christmas!!

Follow me on Twitter @mumof2point5 and like my Facebook page to receive regular updates on your news feed.

Did you enjoy reading this post? Share it with your friends using the ‘Share’ buttons below 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

